Ziauddin University

BASR Committee

The BASR (Board of Advanced Studies and Research) monitors and advises on all matters related to advanced studies and research in the university. The University aims at excellence in basic, clinical and population-based research. It offers ample opportunities to departments, graduates and undergraduate students interested in undertaking research.

The University research priorities commensurate primarily with the health care priorities of the country. Research projects are supported and encouraged in clinical sciences, basic medical sciences and health systems. The University collaborates with other national institutions for research activities being conducted by postgraduate students and the faculty. It also extends financial support to undergraduate students and faculty for the purpose of research.

Undergraduate students from the very first year are encouraged for electives within the university or in other institutions to gain hands-on experience in laboratory techniques or community based surveys.


1Prof. Dr. Syed Irfan HyderVice-Chancellor
2Prof. Dr. Nida HussainPresident & Pro-Chancellor
3Prof. Dr Pirzada Qasim Raza SiddiquiProfessor Emeritus
4Prof. Dr. Abbas ZafarDean, Ziauddin University Faculty of Health Sciences
5Prof. Dr. Fahad AzimDean, Ziauddin University Faculty of Engineering Sciences Technology & Management
6Prof Dr. Tasneem QureshiDean, Ziauddin University Faculty of Eastern Medicine & Natural Sciences
7Ms. Shaaista SarkiDean, Ziauddin University Faculty of Law, Politics & Governance
8Prof Dr. Pamela MarshallDean, Ziauddin University Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery
9Prof Dr. Nudrat FatimaDean, Ziauddin University Faculty of Pharmacy
10Prof Dr. Shehla Najib SidikiDean, Ziauddin Unviersity Faculty of Liberal Arts & Human Sciences 
11Prof. Dr. Zafar Iqbal QureshiDean, Ziauddin Unviersity Faculty of Veterinary & Animal Sciences
12Prof Dr. Talat MirzaExecutive Director Research, Ziauddin University
13Prof Dr. Nuzhat HassanActing Principal, Ziauddin Medical College & Professor of Department of Anatomy
14Prof Dr. Sumaira Imran FarooquiPrincipal, Ziauddin College of Rehabilitation Sciences
15Prof Dr. Saad JawaidChairperson, Department of BioMedical Engineering
16Ms. Amina A. SiddiquiPrincipal, Ziauddin College of Speech Language & Hearing Sciences
17Engr. Capt. (Retd) Waqar HussainRegistrar, Ziauddin University
18Dr. Zulfiqar UmraniActing Director, Quality Enhancement Cell
19Mr Muizz Alam KhanController of Examinations
20Dr. Amna Aamir KhanSecretary, BASR Ziauddin University 
21Prof Dr Anwar Ejaz BaigAdvisor to Chancellor
22Prof Dr. Wahab Buksh KadriPrincipal, Ziauddin College of Dentistry
23Dr. Shamim MushtaqDirector Postgraduate, (BHS) Ziauddin University Faculty of Health Sciences
24Dr Ashar Ekhlaq AhmedDirector Postgraduate (Clinical) Ziauddin University Faculty of Health Sciences
25Dr. Adeel ArsalanDirector Postgraduate, Ziauddin University Faculty of Pharmacy
26Prof Dr. Shaikh Muhammad MunafDirector Postgraduate, Ziauddin University Faculty of Engineering Sciences Technology & Management